Posted by: performanceproduction | September 9, 2011

Jack of all…

So at some point fairly early on, I changed the title of this to its current “Master of None.” Naturally, this is indicative of the fact that while I am at heart a soundguy, I’ve done pretty much everything else under the sun in this crazy business we work in. Believe it or not, I started out in college in the studios there. I had a knack for it, and it’s what got me into this whole “live concert” thing that I think I detailed a few posts ago. So, I started life as a soundguy. Then, I had to learn a little bit of lighting. It was sometime around then that I remember declaring “I already had to learn how to do lights, I’ll never fucking do video.” Remember that for later. At one point in the first company I worked at, we had a lighting guy, a video guy, who due to the fact that we didn’t do much in the way of video (until after he left, ironically enough), was our rigging/stage/roof guy, a FOH guy, and me, monitor guy. I’d occasionally mix FOH for smaller gigs, but on anything larger, I wanted to be at monitors, because then I controlled the stage and the changeovers.

Then our video/staging/roofing guy left, so I ended up taking kinda taking over the stage and roof role, too. In retrospect, I really probably should not have, but I did learn a lot of what to and not to do. I was still the company monitor guy though (in addition to being the shop manager), and these were my roles until I left there. After I left that company, I spent several months freelancing for a variety of places. I mixed in a couple of clubs. There was a theatre where I was a rigger/carp. I did some work as a simple stagehand with the IA. And then I started doing work with a smallish A/V company that held a few pretty large accounts. No, I never once did sound for them. In fact, for all but two gigs, I was a fucking VIDEO GUY. It was kinda fun actually, as most of the video I did was as a seamless plasma wall tech. I got to satiate my ever burning curiosity for new things, and got to travel a bunch around the country doing it as well. I also stepped up my lighting skills, getting into some design with LED’s and movers, culminating in designing/running an awards show for them. Pretty fun, still.

Then I came to where I work now. I’m still a soundguy (though I’m FOH these days – still not sure how that happened), still the truck PackMan. I’m not THE stage/roof guy, but we do all kinda jump in on that. I’m basically the all around number 2 guy (except trucks). I’m the company L2 (the one who was here when I arrived has left, and not been replaced), I’m A2, I’m rigging 2, I’m video well…3 I guess, if you include the part-time guy that does most of our video.

So what the fuck is the point of this? Well, I’m damned and saved by my own fucking curiosity and willingness to learn. I learn new things other than audio, and do it well, and that gets me sucked into doing those things (which are NOT what I got into this to do) more and more often. This makes me very marketable. Unfortunately, sometimes it keeps me from doing my first love – audio. What I DO have going for me is the advances in digital technology in sound – digital consoles, networked audio, networked control of amplifiers, processors, consoles, etc…I’m the guy that knows that shit, and I’m often the ONLY ONE.

And thank god for that…

Leave a Reply

Categories

